Morgan Stanley | Purchase, NY

WMPF Logo 240

Andrew Tung presides over WMPF annual planning awards and is elected WMPF president

Yonkers, NY (June 2010) The Westchester Municipal Planning Federation (WMPF) held its 2010 Annual Awards Dinner on June 10th at X2O Xaviars on the Hudson restaurant to honor excellence in Westchester municipal planning efforts and Westchester volunteer planners.  Andrew Tung, WMPF vice president and chairman of its awards committee, presented five planning achievement awards, three planning commendations, three distinguished citizen planner awards, and one lifetime achievement award at the dinner attended by over two hundred Westchester planners and municipal officials.

“We recognize tonight a special combination of dedication, inspiration and perspiration in the projects and planners we are honoring,” said Tung.  “They demonstrate that municipal planning continues to flourish in Westchester, and that we can and must plan better to do more with less in these challenging economic times,” At the dinner, Tung was also elected to serve as president of  WMPF for 2010 to 2012.

Planning Achievement Awards were presented to:

  • City of Yonkers, for Comprehensive Planning & Downtown Revitalization
  • Town of Bedford, for Comprehensive Sustainability Planning
  • Village of Croton-on-Hudson, for Senior Affordable Housing & Neighborhood Connectivity
  • Village of Ossining, for Comprehensive Planning & Implementation
  • Village of Scarsdale, for Public/Private Partnership & Downtown Revitalization

Planning Commendations were awarded to:

  • City of Mount Vernon, for a community garden
  • City of New Rochelle, for a bicycle parking ordinance and bike rack design competition
  • Town of New Castle, for a downtown pocket park

The following were recognized as Distinguished Citizen Planners:

  • Alice AvRutick, Harrison Planning Board
  • Robert Citarell, Irvington Environmental Conservation Board
  • Carole Griffiths, Tarrytown Environmental Advisory Council

The WMPF Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to George Raymond, a founding partner in 1954 of one of Westchester’s preeminent planning firms and tireless advocate of affordable housing, who has served since 1991 as the chairman of the Westchester Housing Opportunity Commission.

WMPF is a voluntary association representing the county’s municipal governments, zoning and planning boards, and land use consultants whose purpose is to create an effective and permanent countywide organization for the exchange of information on matters of planning interest.  For more information on WMPF and this year’s planning award recipients, click here.